News

“Good Blood is Expensive”

Framed - Trailer - FrameJose Mojica contacted us about his new web series Framed. They filmed the pilot and now are raising money to finish the series.

With every kickstarter or indiegogo campaign, I ask key questions that determine whether I even continue to watch or read about it. Here is how Framed successfully answered all my questions:

Q: What is new or different about this project?

A: Premise is easy enough to grasp, characters look interesting. This is what interests me though:

“We are iFilmFlops, a team of filmmakers committed to bringing back suspense.

“It’s really hard to find a quality suspense series that the whole family can watch.” 

You’ll never see nudity or hear hard-core profanity in our series…but you will definitely see some corpses…and the chances of seeing blood are pretty good too…I wouldn’t rule out the occasional severed body part either.”

I don’t have youngins, but I see how watching suspense as a family could be an issue. They have a nice humor about it, aren’t shying away from the gore, and the company holds a clear objective. I like that.

Q: Does the intro video at least sustain my interest? 

A: Nine times out of ten, the video sucks. And when you’re a storyteller, especially a filmmaker, that just is not okay.  Videos should express the enthusiasm for the project and get a viewer excited to join the team.

Framed has a relatively simple video and it tells the story. They combine their own enthusiasm for the project with footage from the pilot. Music really helps give the feel. I met the creator but didn’t hear his whole backstory and why he created this blah blah blah before I got a peek at the story. It kept me on their kickstarter page and reading the description. Good first step.

Q: Good perks.

A: I like a t-shirt just as much as anyone (I wear my Funder BAMF t-short proudly), but sometimes perks are just snore-worthy. You don’t have a lot of money, or you wouldn’t be running a kickstarter (some exceptions remain). They mention their big perk in the video and it’s at the $500 level – you can get into their private group where they talk about their characters, scheduling, etc. That could be really fun and way beyond just a commentary. For me, that is the most interesting perk. I can’t pledge $500 myself, but it’s enough for me to stop and think if I know someone who would benefit from that perk and who could afford it.

Q: What is the money funding?

A: The headline says it all: good blood is expensive. I know this firsthand and appreciate their efforts to make a quality suspense film.

Framed  has a good start. They’re ten days from their goal and haven’t raised 10% of it, so I wonder what the kickstarter strategy was. It’s worth a look, and if you know people who like suspense but can’t watch it with their kids, send it along and see if they would donate to good entertainment.

Read tips on Kickstarter, including good video examples.

Watch 2-time successful Kickstarters discuss what works.

Submit your own fund-raising campaign below or by emailing webserieswatchers [at] the G of mail.

Leave a Reply

