#RUGeekie / Creator Profiles / News

Wondercon Highlights

We’ve got much more in store for you with Wondercon coverage at our regular time, Wednesdays at 10amPT.

In the meantime, here are some highlights from last weekend:

Saw a great panel on how not to f*ck up iconic characters in comics. More on this soon.

Saw a great panel on how not to f*ck up iconic characters in comics. More on this soon. (Dan Slott pictured.)

Friday I met / loyal viewer of the #RUgeekie Weekly Hangouts, Dan Kurtz! He gifted me a lovely bottle of homemade mead.

Friday I met / loyal viewer of the #RUgeekie Weekly Hangouts, Dan Kurtz (@DV33) ! He gifted me a lovely bottle of homemade mead.

I also met & hung w/ #RUGeekie Judge Nic Baisley from Film Snobbery. He also got some mead!

I hung w/ #RUGeekie Judge Nic Baisley from Film Snobbery. He also got some mead!

I also met Bill Ostroff in person, 1/2 of The Geekies as well as from First Glance Films & Jedi Camp. But try getting HIM on camera! He went table to table, booth to booth, garnering more folks to add their work to The Geekie Awards.

"Husbands" on taking their online sitcom to the CW site. Moderated by #RUGeekie Judge Alan Kistler.

“Husbands” on taking their online sitcom to the CW site. Moderated by #RUGeekie Judge Alan “Sizzler” Kistler.

Expect more on this panel soon as well. They had a fascinating discussion on message vs story, what they definitely don’t want to explore, and gave me my most RT-ed tweet of the whole weekend: “Isn’t it about time we had a gay couple on TV not obsessed with having a baby?” by Cheeks.

Geekie Awards Judge Alan “Sizzler” Kistler spoke on a total of four* panels & moderated this one last weekend, and has a whole lot of other cool things to watch, listen and read. My reading list gets happily longer every time I talk to him.

I also met Tanya Ihnen, Robb Padgett & Steve Lekowicz in person finally! Also pictured: Avi Glijansky & Stephanie Thorpe, from The Ladies & The Gents premiere.)

I also met Tanya Ihnen, Robb Padgett & Steve Lekowicz in person finally! Also pictured: Avi Glijansky & Stephanie Thorpe, Photo from The Ladies & The Gents premiere.)

Tomorrow at 10amPT/1pmET, hear from the artists themselves on their comics, books, art – everything that attracted me to their work!

Do you have Wondercon coverage? Comment with the link and we’ll share.

*UPDATED 12:19pm to correct earlier number of panels on which Kistler  spoke & moderated.

UPDATED 8:46pm to correct Bill Ostroff’s name. Because I’m an idiot. Sorry Bill!

Leave a Reply

